What: Fourth Annual SAR HS Poetry Slam!

When: Tuesday, February 16, 2016, from 12:30-3:30

Theme: "The Stranger" 

Students were invited to address the theme of "The Stranger" in a poetic and meaningful way. 

Poems could address any of the following questions in any sort of poetic form and performance: 

Who is the Stranger? How should we treat them? Where does the familiar end andthe Stranger begin? How do we experience others and ourselves as strange and familiar? What is our responsibility towards the strange and familiar? What are our narratives of the strange/Stranger? What are our religous histories and obligations around the strange and Stranger?

Judges chose ten finalists from among 75+ poems to read in the final round of the SAR slam. Each finalist won a volume by a great poet including Emily Dickinson, Osip Mandelstam and Maxine Kumin. 

The finalists were:

  1. Shlomit Ebbin (Central)
  2. Etel Leah Zeitlin (Central)
  3. Alex Lando (Kushner)
  4. Abigail Winokur (Central)
  5. Joey Yudelson (SAR)
  6. Victoria Gagliardo (HANC) 
  7. Zecharia Rosenthal (Rambam)
  8. Shira Levy + Eli Sharvit (Central)
  9. Odeliah Fried (SAR)
  10. Dora Shechter (Ma'ayanot)

Video of the finalists can be viewed here: